Does Your God Have a Name?

For the first 40-ish years of my life, I believed in God.  I prayed to God, asked for comfort or praised God, sang to God, just as the rest of my family did.  We went to a Baptist church (except for the period of time I rebelled) and did all the things we were supposed to do.  What we were taught to do from the preachers and the Bible.  Nothing seemed out of the ordinary as far as religion was concerned.  I was active in my church, and was part of the Ladies Group and helped with the teenagers.  Several uncles and a few cousins are preachers, I can only say it is a very religion oriented family.  I’ve said all that to explain I thought I was well versed in God.  And then I started to read the Bible for myself, not just what I was told to read, but to actually study the Word.  That is a life-changing action right there.

Once I found the Sabbath and the joy that comes with keeping it, I used my  Sabbath time to study.  What I found was amazing.  But what I couldn’t figure out is why my God didn’t have a name.  HE was the creator of the universe, all mankind, nothing exists except by His Word.  Proverbs 30:4 says “…who hath established all the ends of the earth?  what is his name, and what is his son’s name, if thou cast tell ?”

All other gods have names.  Ba’al, Molech and Apollo are just a few of the names of other gods mentioned in the Bible.  Molech is listed 8 times in the KJV Bible by name.  All of the other religions on earth have names for their gods.  Names have a very special meaning for things.  Using a name creates a personal relationship with someone.  What if you went through your life only being called man, woman, wife, husband, girl, boy, clerk, waitress, etc?  Those are titles or descriptions, but not your name.  You would not want to go through life never being called by name.  Everyone and everything has a name.  Except the Lord God of the universe, the creator of all things?  That made no sense at all to me.

We are to have a personal relationship with God.  It is the most important relationship we will ever have in this life.  We serve Him, praise Him, worship Him, believe on Him, thank Him, and most people never even stop to think that they never call Him by name.  They call on the Lord God, and the Bible tells us he has many titles, but what about Him?  How personal of a relationship can it be if He is not called by name?  Does this make Him sad, to know that He is only called by a title?

My God has a name and it is YHWH.  I worship the Creator of the universe and call on Him by His name.  I follow His word and strive to keep His ways, as I try to live as  Yahshua taught, the only Begotten Son of Yah.  Baruch haba b’shem YHWH.

Does your God have a name?

This entry was posted in Biblical, Religion, Sabbath. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

